What I Learned As An Intern

Internships are the one thing that most JMC students stress about besides finding a job. I happened to be one of those students until May. At the beginning of May, after being turned down by other companies, GoHorseShow offered me an internship for the summer. I gladly accepted due to the fact that I needed the internship to graduate.

GoHorseShow and My Part

GoHorseShow is an online digital horse magazine that is published once a month for people all over the world. GoHorseShow releases daily articles on current events in the horse community, interviews with the top trainers and competitors and coverage of current horse shows. As an intern, my job was to write articles for the website and capture moments at the horse shows. Once a week I would submit ideas for articles then write the article on the selected topic. If I were at a horse show I would capture photos and interview people for articles about the show.

 

What I learned

Throughout my internship I learned many things as a writer and as a person. One thing I learned was that not everyone likes your idea. It may be a great idea, but not everyone may think so. Next, I learned to take any advice or criticism in a way that can help improve my skills. Over the summer I received a lot of criticism that not only improved my writing skills but also improved the way I looked at articles and ideas. Finally, I learned that not everyone has the same morals and values as I do. I learned how to stick to my faith and stand up for what I believe in.

In The End

GoHorseShow was a great opportunity for me as a JMC major. It taught me how to become a better writer, interviewer and an overall better person. It may not have been my dream internship in the beginning, but in the end I could not have asked for anything better.

Screen Shot 2015-09-28 at 10.06.45 AM

Leave a Reply

