JMC New Curriculum

Now you may be wondering ever since you left ACU, what has changed in the department that you spent the majority of your college years in. Did you have to take the GPS test while you were here? Was a 91% still considered a B when you were here? Maybe or maybe not, depending on when you graduated. The latest change and what I am here to talk about is a new class that has been added.

Ever heard of a weekend course? If you haven’t, I’ll give you a quick run down. Basically, you give up a weekend to be in a classroom all day and you get one credit. Simple? Yes. Time consuming? Also yes. Required? Absolutely.

I took the class this past weekend and this was the schedule I was looking at:

  • Friday: 5-8:30pm
  • Saturday: 9-12; 1-5 pm
  • Sunday: 1-4:30 pm

Who wants to do that on a weekend? I had no time to spend with friends, relax, or watch Netflix.

This class is called a “colloquy,” which means “a conversation.” I was given a topic and that’s what I spent the entire weekend talking and researching about with 25 other students.

Honestly, after taking it I realized that it wasn’t as bad as I thought it was going to be. I got to meet more people in my major, we got to share stories that we’ve had in this department, I got new insights on issues that have been happening in the media world and there was free food, which is always a good thing.

This new required course, took up time, but it also allowed me to apply what I have been learning in real life settings. The guest speaker that comes is someone who is successful in his or her field, which gives us an example as to where we can be heading if we graduate in this major. Not only that but I was able to learn more about my department and build relationships with people I otherwise would have never talked to.

Leave a Reply

