An Interview with Rachel Fritz

The process of finding an internship stresses me out. I knew the best way to calm myself down was to ask a fellow Journalism and Mass Communication student for information on her experience. So, I sat down and talked with a good friend of mine, who had recently done an internship. Meet Rachel Fritz, who is a junior Convergence Journalism major from Haltom City, Texas.unnamed

Where did you do your internship?

I did my internship in Abilene at the Abilene Reporter News.

 

When did you do it?

I interned from June 2014 through August 2014.

 

What did you do?

I wrote news stories; I did interviews and that’s basically it.

 

Did you have to get coffee?

Haha, no, not once did I have to get coffee.

 

How did you like it?

It was interesting, a good experience, but with a lot of down time. We were not always doing something, so when we were busy it was cool, but when we weren’t I was mostly just watching cat videos. It was fun though, and sometimes we got free food.

 

What did you learn?

I learned that I don’t just want to write stories as a career. I also learned how to write better, what makes a good news story and how to ask the right questions.

 

What do you want to do, then?

I want to work for a magazine, but I don’t really know what to do. It’s all still up in the air at this point.

 

Are you planning on doing another internship this upcoming summer?

Yes, I am planning on doing another internship this summer, hopefully at a magazine or outside of Abilene.

~Edit~

To add a little something to this blog post, I interviewed another friend about her internship process to get a different perspective!

Her name is Meigan Gardner and she is a senior Advertising and Public Relations major from Atlanta, Georgia. Unfortunately, the file could not be uploaded to WordPress, but I have conveniently placed a link here for you to listen to it on SoundCloud.

Leave a Reply

