Required text for journalism classes.

A Day in the Life of a Multimedia Major

The Journalism and Mass Communication department at ACU is huge. I always feel that I am continually meeting people who are somehow connected to the department. However, because it is so large, student experiences are quite different. Because of this, I want to take you all on a journey of a typical day (for me) in the department:

8 AM: I wake up, and get ready for the day. Typically, I would sleep in because my classes start at 12, but I have a video assignment for the Optimist today.

10 AM: I head over to the William Performing Arts Center to finish filming a parking lot scene as B-Roll for a video about the parking situation on campus.

11 AM: I go to chapel and then quickly find a snack to eat before class.

12 PM: I go to my fashion history class, which never fails to put a smile on my face. My professor, Sandy Freeman is an absolute joy to be taught by and the other students in the class are some of the most interesting people that I have ever met.

1:20 PM: I head over from the WPAC to the Don Morris Building (which is a trip, the two buildings are on completely opposite sides of campus) to go to Electronic Publishing, which is a course required for my major. It’s hard, but when my HTML coding actually works, I can’t help but feel a sense of accomplishment.

3:00 PM: I begin working on a video due later that afternoon.

5:50 PM: I finish the video, feeling proud of working so efficiently. I’m satisfied with how it turned out, but I know what I need to do in the future to make my next video better.

6:00 PM: I return the camera to its drawer, but only after fumbling with the lock for almost 10 minutes. My school day typically ends here.

Sometimes the work is difficult, but I wouldn’t trade being a multimedia student for the world, it’s when life gets rough that you wonder if you’re where you should be in life, and I know that I am in the right place.

Leave a Reply

